backup_kill - Terminates a pending or running operation
<job ID or dump set name
<job ID or dump set name
The backup kill
command dequeues a Backup System operation that is
pending, or terminates an operation that is running, in the current
interactive session. It is available only in interactive mode. If the issuer
of the backup interactive
command included the -localauth
argument, or both, then those settings apply to this command
To terminate a dump operation, specify either the dump name (
) or its job ID number, which
appears in the output from the backup jobs
command. To terminate any
other type of operation, provide the job ID number.
The effect of terminating an operation depends on the type and current state of
- If an operation is still pending, the Tape Coordinator
removes it from the queue with no other lasting effects.
- If the Tape Coordinator is unable to process the
termination signal before an operation completes, it simply confirms the
operation's completion. The operator must take the action necessary to
undo the effects of the incorrect operation.
- If a tape labeling operation is running, the effect depends
on when the Tape Coordinator receives the termination signal. The labeling
operation is atomic, so it either completes or does not begin at all. Use
the backup readlabel command to determine if the labeling operation
completed, and reissue the backup labeltape command to overwrite
the incorrect label if necessary.
- If a tape scanning operation is running, it terminates with
no other effects unless the -dbadd flag was included on the
backup command. In that case, the Backup System possibly has
already written new Backup Database records to represent dumps on the
scanned tape. If planning to restart the scanning operation, first locate
and remove the records created during the terminated operation: a repeated
backup scantape operation exits automatically when it finds
that a record that it needs to create already exists.
- If a dump operation is running, all of the volumes written
to the tape or backup data file before the termination signal is received
are complete and usable. If the operation is restarted, the Backup System
performs all the dumps again from scratch, and assigns a new dump ID
number. If writing the new dumps to the same tape or file, the operator
must relabel it first if the interrupted dump is not expired. If writing
the new dump to a different tape or file, the operator can remove the dump
record associated with the interrupted dump to free up space in the
- If a restore operation is running, completely restored
volumes are online and usable. However, it is unlikely that many volumes
are completely restored, given that complete restoration usually requires
data from multiple tapes. If the termination signal comes before the
Backup System has accessed all of the necessary tapes, each volume is only
partially written and is never brought online. It is best to restart the
restore operation from scratch to avoid possible inconsistencies. See also
It is best not to issue the backup kill
command against restore
operations. If the termination signal interrupts a restore operation as the
Backup System is overwriting an existing volume, it is possible to lose the
volume entirely (that is, to lose both the contents of the volume as it was
before the restore and any data that was restored before the termination
signal arrived). The data being restored still exists on the tape, but some
data can be lost permanently.
- -id <job ID or dump set name>
- Identifies the backup operation to terminate. Provide one
of two types of values:
- The operation's job ID number, as displayed in the output
of the backup jobs command.
- For a dump operation, either the job ID number or a dump
name of the form volume_set_name.dump_level_name, where
volume_set_name is the name of the volume set being dumped and
dump_level_name is the last element in the dump level pathname at
which the volume set is being dumped. The dump name appears in the output
of the backup jobs command along with the job ID number.
- Prints the online help for this command. All other valid
options are ignored.
The following command terminates the operation with job ID 5:
backup> kill 5
The following command terminates the dump operation called
backup> kill user.sunday1
The issuer must have the privilege required to initiate the operation being
cancelled. Because this command can be issued only within the interactive
session during which the operation was initiated, the required privilege is
IBM Corporation 2000. <http://www.ibm.com/> All Rights Reserved.
This documentation is covered by the IBM Public License Version 1.0. It was
converted from HTML to POD by software written by Chas Williams and Russ
Allbery, based on work by Alf Wachsmann and Elizabeth Cassell.